18 till 18.

Do you know what I did last night? I took my little baby boy to his high school to pick up his cap and gown for graduation. Wait. He’s not a baby. That’s right. In fact, he’s taller than me. He drives. He’s almost 18. And soon, he’ll be a high school graduate on his way to college.

I was pondering this thought the other night as I was driving home. Thinking about when he used to be little. Tears were streaming down my face and I was trying to grasp how this all happened so quickly. He used to need my help and rely on me for everything. He needed me to pick out his clothes, make his dinner and remind him to take a bath. Independence blossomed and he matured over time. Those teenage years were such a roller coaster ride.

I started thinking about that first night alone with him as a brand new baby. I was so scared to have him–this little helpless baby terrified me. It makes me laugh now. That first tooth. Riding without training wheels. Kindergarten. 4th grade. Middle school. Football practice. Driver’s Ed. High school. License. Applying for college… and last night we picked up his graduation attire. I’m so proud, but it’s so bittersweet for me. People always told me, “they grow up in the blink of an eye.” But when you’re in the midst of potty training, terrible twos, helping with homework, running them to practice while trying to do 100 other things–it feels like it’s never going to end. And then, suddenly, you can see the end. They are on the home stretch. Adulthood is right there. But how can that be?

Jordan will turn 18 in 18 days. I’m making it a priority to sit down each day and write down some of the things I remember from his childhood. What he was like, things he said, places we went, memories that made us laugh.

Memory lane can be soothing to the soul.

551558_10153135234208216_4780353254927227939_n

Till next time,

BP

Leave a Reply

