A visit from my little sister!

It finally happened! The week that I had been counting down to: My little sister Lindsey Lee came to Maui for an entire week!!! 7 days! 1000’s of pictures! 100’s of miles!! It was so much fun playing tour guide! We went a few places that were new to us, so it was learning all around. Shopping, laughing, beaches, snorkeling, hiking, and exploring. It was so fun! Here’s a few of our favorites:

We got up at 2:30am to drive an hour to the top of Haleakala to watch the sun rise. AWE-SOME! We bundled up and stood in the dark waiting… waiting… waiting…  And when I say bundled-I mean it. I kinda wished that I would’ve had mittens. We were wearing winter coats and layers!!! No joke!! It gets COLD at 10,000 feet above sea level! I saw a male tourist wearing shorts and a t-shirt, wrapped up in hot pink Hello Kitty towel to preserve some body heat. Hawaii is cold!! Winking smile I don’t think we were really impressed at first. It was cold, dark and we were tired. We got there early to get a good spot, and ended up standing next to a tour guide who told us all sorts of interesting tips and information. He reminded me to be taking pictures every 5 minutes. Here’s me: trying to keep my fingers warm, while catching video on my iPhone and shooting pictures on my Nikon. I felt like I was in the circus. Once the sun started to peek-it was so cool! Watching the sun roll up over the Earth-it was worth crawling out of bed in the middle of the night and standing in the cold. Here’s a few pictures of what we saw:

070073083114115117119129

There was something so peaceful about being above the clouds and watching the Sun do it’s thing.

And here’s our “it’s cold in Hawaii” picture:

147

The road to Hana! Another amazing experience. Hana is located on the Eastern side of Maui. About 52 miles from where we live-but it can take anywhere from 2-4 hours to get there. With 620 curves, 52 bridges, incredible views, hairpin turns, lots of tourists, and all on a 2-lane road, it’s quite the experience. Someone told me: it’s not the destination, but the journey. This is 100% true for the drive to Hana. So we packed a cooler full of food, charged our cameras, and hit the road. We took turns riding in the box of the truck for an even better view. We saw rainforests, waterfalls, hidden trails, a black sand beach and dolphins playing in the Pacific!

328376395401474526

It was so pretty. Everywhere we looked. I don’t think I could’ve taken enough pictures-but I tried Winking smile

The dolphins were so cool! So playful and carefree.

483490

Can you see them all? There were a lot!!:

491

Oh! Have you ever seen the rainbow eucalyptus trees in Maui? Way cool!

378

We stopped at Wai’anapanapa state park. Right away McKenzie spotted the ginormous rock coming out of the water—and people were jumping off of it—and guess who HAD to join in!?

608Totally fearless. I’ve lived with this carefree spirit for 12.5 years now, but it still sometimes makes me nervous.

616Awesome Smile

The black sand beach was neat to see.

594

Black Rock beach! It’s my favorite and now it’s my sisters favorite! She snorkeled, swam with turltles, jumped from the black rock and got a lot of sunburn. Yay for Hawaii Smile

058007049005

We had such a good time! Lindsey Lee come see me again!!!!!

182226367019056062

I sent her back to Minnesota tired, sunburnt and in love with this little island. Till we meet again sis.

BP

Leave a Reply

