Spilling the beans!…

 

First off… HAPPY SPRING! What a long winter! We’ve had nice weather for a few weeks and I’m lovin’ it!! Birds are chirping non-stop, the grass is green, tulips are blooming and kids are on bikes! Yippie!!! Bring on the lovely scent of flowers, bright skies and long sunshiny days!

Okay okay. So….I’ve been keeping quiet. I have some beans to spill…. So, what if I told you that our little family was going to do something a little crazy? Not like dye our hair pink or give up bacon forever kind-of crazy… I mean..  Making a great big change. Taking a huge leap of faith. Well. We’re gonna do it. Let me rewind a bit.. back to March 2012. Here’s the status update/question that I posted on Facebook: (click on the link to see the whole page)  https://www.facebook.com/517598215/posts/10150673045908216

pIC1 (2)

Remember? That was the idea that I thought was completely insane. I really did. I liked my little packaged up life. Everything had a rhyme and a reason. My life was comfortable and it made sense.  But the more I prayed about it, the more it started to realize that changing it up a bit wouldn’t be so horrible. Josh really wanted to move. So. I had a change of heart-literally. I asked God to send us a motivated buyer…. our house sold in 12 hours…. and we were on our way to… Montana. Wait. So living in Eastern Montana wasn’t really the plan. I mean, it was God’s plan, and it was clear that we were supposed to go. And I was excited for something new. But we always knew in our hearts that Hawaii was the place that we wanted to go. We arrived here and settled in and kept pursuing the dream. But I know now that God was telling us “Not yet. Just be patient.” And so, we were. We decided to put Hawaii on hold until the end of the school year and re-examine our plan then. Meanwhile, I’ve been scouring blogs, Pinterest, Facebook, and other websites for information—tons and tons and tons of information. Just how does someone move to Hawaii? Well, I’ll tell you: there isn’t one easy way—but there is one clear way: DO IT…or don’t. (gulp).

It’s funny how God works. While we’ve been here, we’ve learned quite a few things, met people who were meant to have a place in our lives and saw His timing unfold at just the right time—even though we were saying “hurry! hurry! hurry!” I feel like he laughed and rolled his eyes. Like we were even close to knowing anything when we arrived here 10 months ago. We had some things to do. People to meet. Sunshine to spread. Lessons to learn. Prioritizing. Simplifying. Learning to be teachable. Learning to be patient. And most importantly: Learn to completely trust God. 6c5b56c399745a0c9ebea3d13e0b1ee8

Fast forward to May… We bought one way tickets to Maui, Hawaii! We are packing up and heading west—once again! Smile I kept quiet about it because there are too many dream-crushers and anxiety builders out there. I didn’t need any added stress during this. My brain was so full of so many things to get done. So.. it was our little dream that we were quietly working on—praying about—envisioning. A few people have known about this dream for awhile. A few friends who are so supportive, inspirational and our cheerleaders. They know who they are and I am so, so SO thankful for them and for them believing in us, pushing us and reminding us that we can and will do it! Smile

12342DSC_0170

How about that… Minnesota-to-Montana-to-Maui. Eeekkk!! Crazy-scary-exciting. We’ve found a place to live, the vehicles are booked to ship out, our family in Washington has graciously offered to let us stay for a few days and even bring us to the airport. We have a few job leads, we’ve networked with a few people who live on the island-and we have friends and family who will be visiting soon!! So, we pack up and drive to Washington (stopping on the way to see western Montana and Idaho). Stay for a few days and fly out. Just us, our suitcases, hearts full of faith, minds full of adventure, and a wide open chapter in our story. Sometimes I catch myself thinking that this is just too crazy, unattainable, and too scary. But then I remember that this is it—our one and only life. No do-overs. No second chances. I’m learning to let it go, and let God. I read once “If your dream don’t scare you, they’re not big enough.” I thought on it for awhile and now I totally agree. We all have to dream big. Live with “Uh oh’s” instead of “what-if’s.” We are not trees. We can change if we don’t like something. We need to step outside of our boxes. It’s incredibly hard to take the first step, but once we realize that we can do it, we either keep going or we sit down. Life is flying by. From the moment I watched the movie “Soul surfer,” I was filled with goose bumps. That was my little girl—who needed to be in the ocean. And my son-who wants to learn how to fly helicopters—well let’s do it! I hear that Hawaii has a few aircrafts coming and going Smile

There was a lot of praying, hoping, reading and learning through this journey. Mostly praying though Smile  I’ve grown closer in my relationship with God than ever before. I believe that God is preparing us for something wonderful. I don’t know what’s in store for us, but I know that He is with us. “Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God” Philippians 4:6. I can’t tell you how many times I recited this one.

declare2DSC_0198DSC_00276

So… there ya go… the beans are spilled Winking smile

Be strong in the Lord and,
Never give up hope,
You’re going to do great things,
I already know,
God’s got His hand on you so,
Don’t live life in fear,
Forgive and forget,
But don’t forget why you’re here,
Take your time and pray,
Thank God for each day,
His love will find a way,
These are the words I would say

-Sidewalk Prophets (The words I would say) One of my favorite songs. Kinda fits my life at this exact moment ❤

I am filled with thoughts and emotions as we prepare to move. We’d sure appreciate your prayers. Being surrounded by supportive people is so refreshing and heart-warming. We are so blessed.

DSC_0335

Until next time friends….

Less Howdy and more Aloha Winking smile

Life is short. Find adventure. Forgive quickly. Have a graceful heart. Smile at strangers. Lean on God. Laugh a lot. Be kind. Dream big. Have fun. Live hard. Pray. And enjoy every moment that you’re given.

~BP and the fam ❤

13 thoughts on “Spilling the beans!…

  1. Bridget, I’m so thrilled for your family. Reading your testimony has really brought forth my own inner desires to have that kind of faith in the lord again. I remember when god told me years ago I was meant to come to minnesota with shawn and so we packed up everything we had and headed northeast from california and I remember being scared and excited all at the same time. Since then we’ve never wanted for anything and have truly been blessed but I was bitter for a long time that the lord didn’t let me go to Texas and it’s recently I finally put my stubbornness aside and said ok lord I’m here, what is my purpose in minnesota? The closer I bring myself to god the closer I feel that purpose will be revealed. We really do hold ourselves back. Thanks for always being that positive ray of sunshine, I’m so lucky to be able to say I know you and have you as a sister in christ. My prayers are with your family and I hope someday our family can make a trip to Hawaii to visit. Much Love, Jennifer Bailey

  2. LOVE it!! 🙂 I CAN. NOT. WAIT. to hear more about this adventure!!! I won’t lie… I’m jealous!

    By the way… can we talk about setting up some kind of regular shipments of fresh-roasted Hawaiian coffee back to the mainland?! 😉

  3. Wow… Congratulations 🙂 I am so proud and excited for you guys! But we definitely will miss you even more ;( Boohooooo…. Praise the Lord for internet 😉 Love you cuz, give hugs to everyone for me please! ❤ I will definitely be praying for you–so exciting. 🙂

  4. I have been so excited for your family to take this journey! You have all worked so hard, and followed Him on this path, and I’m sure your journey will continue to carry you to wonderful places 🙂 Prayers are with you and your family while you embark on your adventure! Looking forward to following you along the way!

  5. Where has the time went? So many emotions came over us when we heard of your exciting and new undertaking. We wish we could have seen all of you before your new journey began but reading our first blog ever from you really filled us in. We send you our love and you will be in our prayers. I know Grandma and Grandpa Hansen will be looking over you. Please write or e-mail after you get settled. Love Aunt Linda and Uncle Don Haavisto

Leave a Reply

