Moving?

We’re moving!? Wait. Let me clarify that. We’re relocating! What!? Crazy you say? After 12 years in the same house, in the same town, in the same state… we decided it’s time for a move! (And when I say “we” I mean: Josh and the kids.) It started off as a simple idea {which I was not fond of in any form} and it quickly became a decision that would change our life and make our heads spin. This whole plan of relocating has showed us in so many ways, that God is closing doors that need to be closed and opening doors that need to be opened. Our family is ready for a grand adventure!! And so the story sounds something like this….

Josh was the one who started talking about moving around mid-March. He wanted a change. New. Different. Excitment. But the biggest challenge he would have, would be waiting for ME to convince myself that to want to move. I really like my house. A lot. If I could pick it up and move it to a sweet little spot on a few acres with a bunch of trees and no mosquitoes, I would do it today! {Josh just finished up our basement and it is pretty darn cool. Craftroom. Pantry. It’s a really great house–filled with so many happy memories} Why would I want to move? I like my job. I like the schools that the kids go to. I like our church. I like that our extended family is close enough for us to visit at any time. And I LOVE my close group of girlfriends. I have some pretty great friends. Why would I want to move?! Pack up all my stuff? Quit my job? Attempt to sell our house in this market? For what? I was dragging my feet and playing the ‘stubborn card’ on this one. My household was totally against me! The kids even wanted to move. WHAT!? I used every angle possible when trying to convince them to want to stay. But nothing worked. They wanted to go. Montana has mountains, steel farms, new faces, adventures waiting to be experienced and best of all: Grandpa. And they wanted it all.

I started to think about moving. Hmmmm. When you move, you get rid of things. And when you get rid of things, you simplify your life. And when you simplify your life, there’s more time for things that make you happy. And when things make you happy, you’re happy. The idea bounced around in my head for awhile. Maybe, just maybe I could take on this whole idea of moving. I did some serious thinking. {I’d also like to give credit to all the motivational/be brave/seek adventure/”YOLO” quotes/words on Pinterest. Seriously. Those things are good!} I decided that I *think* I would be willing to downsize my closet, sell my house, say goodbye to my friends, and start an adventure with my family. We were heading home from Easter when I broke the news from the backseat of our VW. Josh asked me repeat it out loud. Everyone in the car gave me a “hi-five” and a big smile. This was it. I was in. There was no backing out now. We were going to be moving. Ugh. Am I ready to move? I am the girl who really likes routine. This is way out of my comfort zone. But my family wants to go. And so, we shall go.

We started working on the house to get it ready to sell {and again, when I say “we,” I mean “Josh.” But once you’re married, two become one, so I get to attach myself to it for a little credit!} He really did go OCD on this place. I would come home from work and see what he had done and think: “why are we moving? You’re just making it more awesome in here!!!” The realtor had good things to say about our house. Not really about the market.. but that our house is pretty rad and he thinks it will sell quick. We did some thinking. Some talking. Lots of praying. {Every day and every night and sometimes during the day, I would pray for a motivated buyer to come and buy our house.} This was a big decision that was just between Josh and I. We didn’t even tell our parents or any of our friends. I didn’t need anyone to tell me anything negative about our idea. So we kept quiet. I wrote our parent’s letters explaining our plan and I mailed them out a week before the realtor was scheduled to come take pictures of the house. They all responded differently, but they were all excited for us. Sad to see us go, but excited to see us GO. BE. LIVE. ๐Ÿ™‚

We got the house ready for a ‘model shoot.’ From ceiling to floors, it all sparkled and shined. Counters were clean and empty. Everything was in it’s place. It was cleaner then it was on the day we moved in 12 years ago. {OK, that might not be 100% accurate, but it looked SO good in here!} Our realtor {Dave} told us that our house would be on the market the next day, but we might not see it online until Sunday-ish.. Yikes. It was really starting to feel real. The next night I searched for our listing online. Couldn’t find it. Put the “selling our house” stress on the back-burner as we prepared to go camping with friends for the weekend. McKenzie and I took an early Saturday morning trip to Costco for some camping treats. She was playing games on my phone when it rang. She took a message and then told me the words that made my stomach do flip-flops: “A realtor called and wants to do a showing today.”

What?? What did you say? A showing? FOR REAL!?! I called to tell Josh, but he had already talked to the realtor. They were coming at between 3 and 4 o’clock. Perfect. We’d be on our way out of town. All the way home all I could think about is “this is our first showing!” Would they love it? Hate it? Would they have kids? What would they say about our humble abode? Who would they be? And then I had this strange thought: When Josh and I were house-hunting, this house was the FIRST house we looked at. We saw it. We loved it. We bought it. WHAT IF.. the people who do our first showing BUY our house?! The thought seemed to be ridiculous and my brain was consumed by all the other things I had to get done. Wow. We are going to attempt our first showing. Will it always feel this crazy/exciting/scary/stressful??

When we got back home, it was crunch time. The four of us picked up, cleaned, and straightened the house. Then we packed and loaded up the truck. We did all we could do. We said a prayer as we backed down the driveway. That was it. But of course it wasn’t because it’s all everyone wanted to talk about when we were camping. It was exciting and nerve-wracking. There were 39 of us together that weekend–so many faces that I adore and have shared lots of fun memories with. I couldn’t get a cell signal to save my life {yes I did stand on top of a picnicย table and hold my phone up in the air as high as I could so that it could grab onto a “magical middle-of-the-woods cell phone signal.” It didn’t work. I got annoyed and shut it off. We would just have to enjoy our weekend and be patient.}

I was online searching for our listing just as Josh’s cell phone started to ring in the garage. And then, I found it. Our house. On the internet. Looking so spiffy. It was a bittersweet moment. I clicked through all of them, as if I was critiqing every photo. Josh walked back into the house,ย stood just a few feet from me and stared. His face was white. He looked confused…and a little scared. He looked me in the eye and proceeded to slowly say “That was Dave. The people from the showing loved our house. They want to offer us full price–plus–closing costs. They want to close July 19th.” It was like there was a lag in the information processing. My brain didn’t quite understand. It took a second, and then it all sunk in. I jumped off the couch and into his arms! “We did it baby, can you believe this?!” I really couldn’t. I immediately texted all of my girlfriends whom I had spent the weekend with, wondering about this showing. Then the news hit our parents, and facebook.ย  Our first showing gave us everything we asked for–and more? It seemed too good to be true. But I know better than that. God had it all under control. All that worrying.. for what?! We laced up our Nike’s and headed out for a 5 mile walk together. Just as we crossed our yard, he held my hand, smiled at me and said “Thanks to you and all those ‘motivated buyer prayers’.” ๐Ÿ™‚

Our heads are still spinning as we attempt to down-size our stuff, say goodbye to Minnesota, and move 600 miles away. It’s moving along a lot faster than we ever imagined. I know we will get rid of what we need to, say goodbye to those we love and become closer as a family than we ever have been. Adventure awaits.ย And so, our journey begins….

11 thoughts on “Moving?

  1. I love your first blog post! I am so happy for your family, but in the same breath so sad to be losing such a great neighbor. Isanti was your chrysalis, it’s time to go spread your beautiful wings!

  2. You are a awesome family and you will do great anywhere you go. B- this made me cry tears of excitement reading about when Josh got the call from Dave ! I am going to be a loyal follower now !! Xo

    • AWW! Trina you make me smile! Thanks for that ๐Ÿ™‚ I am glad I got to spill the beans with you a little early ๐Ÿ˜‰ I will always be just a moment away… on your laptop or phone… even if we are miles away ๐Ÿ™‚ xo

  3. Thanks Erin! I tried to post the link, but our listing says this: The property you are searching for is no longer an active listing. Pending status. Eek! So exciting ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. Love your energy… I love the blog idea, this will be great for all of us and for you.. it’s surprising how fast time flies and how easy you forget stuff.. We love you!

  5. Hey B, just got finished reading the posts you have and have to ask: did you keep copies of the pictures they took of the house?!? We never got to go out and see you guys and I’m curious to see some of Josh’s (and your) handiwork!! Show me! Lol! Hope you guys had fun last nite, it was good to see you guys again ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Hey pretty girl! I DID print off a copy of the MLS. You two are free to visit us in the next 30–errr–29 days! He did some SUPER KEWL stuff here… You should come see ๐Ÿ˜‰ Thank you so much for coming last night.. You guys are just awesome!

Leave a Reply

